Blitzboks, flying Argentines in the same group


Here comes a thing.

The capricious Blitzboks and the flying Argentinians will already meet in the group phase of the Perth sevens tournament.

The group draw for the third tournament in the HSBC sevens series was done on Thursday and the Blitzboks are in Group A along with Argentina, Canada and Spain.

Nowadays, one doesn’t quite know what to expect from the Blitzbokke. After they walked away with the laurels in Dubai, they lost the klutz in Cape Town; as evidenced by the defeats against Australia (28 – 0) and New Zealand (31 – 7).

In contrast, the South Americans came up with a spectacular performance and ran the Aussies off their feet in the cup final to hold up the silverware with a score of 45 – 12.

High on the Blitzboks’ priority list for the Perth tournament is to ensure better possession: Teams put the South Africans under great pressure at the breakdown points and scored regularly; frequently as the game progresses.

Still, coach Sandile Ngcobo is optimistic about the remaining tournaments in the series.

“We have shown in the last two tournaments that we can deal with any team and we have worked very hard in the run-up to the season. Yes, the second day of the Cape Town tournament was not a good day for us, but we will definitely analyze the matches and make the necessary adjustments,” he said.

The Perth tournament will be decided from January 26 to 28 and the action will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

  • Groups:

Group A: Argentina, South Africa, Canada and Spain

Group B: Australia, Ireland, Great Britain and the USA

Group C: Fiji, New Zealand, France and Samoa

  • Official Standings:
  1. Argentina: 38 points
  2. South Africa: 30 points
  3. Fiji: 30 points
  4. New Zealand: 28 points
  5. Ireland: 26 points
  6. Australia: 26 points
  7. Samoa: 11 points
  8. France: 10 points
  9. Canada: 9 points
  10. USA: 8 points
  11. Great Britain: 7 points
  12. Spain: 5 points