Bulls vs Leinster – big battle awaits in Dublin


It’s Jake White against Jacques Nienaber, Elrigh Louw against Josh van der Flier and Bok against Ier when the Bulls meet Leinster in Dublin tonight.

The Pretorians boast two victories against the Irish giants and White said in the run-up to the duel that the showdown is an excellent measure for the Bulls to see where they lie.

“We have prepared well and all the players are ready for action, except Sebastian (de Klerk) who received a blow to the head last week,” said the Bulls’ director of rugby.

However, White is excited about the challenge that awaits his team in the RDS arena.

“I learned that the tickets for the match are sold out and this is good news for the players, because it means that we as a team are doing something right on the rugby field. People want to see the Bulls in action.”

The Leinster ringleaders have also selected a very strong squad with a host of Six Nations winners in the squad.

“It’s a really big game – it’s the top teams in the United Rugby Championship standings playing against each other and Leinster’s stars will no doubt want to be at their best too.”

The match kicks off tonight at 21:35 and the action will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

  • Teams:

Bulls: Willie le Roux (full back), Kurt-Lee Arendse (right wing), Canan Moodie (outside centre), David Kriel (inside centre), Devon Williams (left wing), Johan Goosen (fly-half), Embrose Papier (scrum-half), Marcell Coetzee (eighth man) , Elrigh Louw (flank), Marco van Staden (flank), Ruan Nortjé (lock), Ruan Vermaak (lock), Wilco Louw (prop), Akker van der Merwe (hooker) and Gerhard Steenekamp (prop). Substitutes: Johan Grobbelaar, Simphiwe Matanzima, Mornay Smith, Reinhardt Ludwig, Mpilo Gumede, Zak Burger, Chris Smith and Harold Vorster.

Leinster: Jordan Larmour (full back), Rob Russell (right wing), Robbie Henshaw (outside centre), Jamie Osbourne (inside centre), James Lowe (left wing), Harry Byrne (fly-half), Luke McGrath (scrum-half), Jack Conan (eighth man), Josh van der Flier (flank), Ryan Baird (flank), Joe McCarthy (lock), Ross Molony (lock), Michael Ala’alatoa (prop), Ronan Kelleher (hooker) and Cian Healy (prop). Subs: Dan Sheehan, Michael Milne, Tadhg Furlong, Jason Jenkins, Caelan Doris, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ross Byrne and Liam Turner.