Duhan in Scots’ starting team


Duhan van der Merwe will be the no. 11 jersey for Scotland in their Six Nations opener against Wales at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff.

Van der Merwe, who was born in South Africa and completed his school career at Outeniqua High School, is undoubtedly one of Scotland’s big stars.

The strong winger is a rugby freak: He can launch an attack from anywhere on the rugby field, while he also often impresses with his speed.

The 28-year-old player has already left his mark on the Six Nations action in previous tournaments.

He burst through 31 tackles in 2021, while last year he scored a miracle try at Twickenham against England.

However, there was no chance of getting through against South Africa when the two countries played against each other in a World Cup match.

Kyle Steyn and Pierre Schoeman are the other South African born players in the Scottish starting team against the Red Dragons, while Huw Jones was a regular face in the Stormers team.

For Wales, Aaron Wainwright, Tommy Reffell and James Botham will form the loose trio for the Test.

The 25-year-old Botham is the grandson of the legendary England cricketer Ian Botham.

The match kicks off at 18:45 on Saturday and the action will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Wales: Cameron Winnett (full back), Josh Adams (right wing), Owen Watkin (outside centre), Nick Tompkins (inside centre), Rio Dyer (left wing), Sam Costelow (fly-half), Gareth Davies (scrum-half), Aaron Wainwright (eighth man), Tommy Reffell (flank), James Botham (flank), Adam Beard (lock), Dafydd Jenkins (lock and captain), Leon Brown (prop), Ryan Elias (hooker) and Corey Domachowski (prop). Substitutes: Elliot Dee, Kemsley Mathias, Keiron Assiratti, Teddy Williams, Alex Mann, Tomos Williams, Ioan Lloyd and Mason Grady.

Scotland: Kyle Rowe (full back), Kyle Steyn (right wing), Huw Jones (outside centre), Sione Tuipulotu (inside centre), Duhan van der Merwe (left wing), Finn Russell (fly-half and captain), Ben White (scrum-half), Matt Fagerson (eighth ), Jamie Ritchie (flank), Luke Crosbie (flank), Scott Cummings (lock), Richie Gray (lock), Zander Fagerson (prop), George Turner (hooker) and Pierre Schoeman (prop). Subs: Ewan Ashman, Alec Hepburn, Elliot Millar-Mills, Sam Skinner, Jack Dempsey, George Horne, Ben Healy and Cameron Redpath.