Fauna and flora inspire Team SA uniforms


South Africa’s official Olympic and Paralympic team uniform was launched earlier this week during a function at Maropeng in the Cradle of Humankind near Krugersdorp.

The team uniform was designed in collaboration with Mr Price and is inspired by the natural flora and fauna of the South African landscape.

The clothing was mainly produced in KwaZulu-Natal.

The South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascok) partnership with Mr Price began in 2021 and national athletes participated in Maxed Elite uniforms at the previous Games in Tokyo and at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

“Our athletes are now instantly recognisable; either when they are part of the opening and closing ceremonies or in action on the sports field,” said Sascok President Barry Hendricks.

The Olympic Games will be held in Paris from June 26 to August 11 and the opening ceremony will be held at the iconic Champs-Elysées and Place de la Concorde in the French capital.

Saskok confirmed earlier that gold medal winners will pocket a bonus of R400 000.

  • South Africa’s provisional Olympic team:

Women: Prudence Sekgodiso (800 m), Marioné Fourie (110 m hurdles), Zenéy Geldenhuys (400 m hurdles), Rogail Joseph (400 m hurdles), Gerda Steyn (marathon), Cian Oldknow (marathon) and Irvette van Zyl ( marathon).

Men: Akani Simbine (100 m), Luxolo Adams (200 m), Benjamin Richardson (200 m), Shaun Maswanganyi (200 m), Wayde van Niekerk (400 m), Lythe Pillay (400 m), Zakithi Nene (400 m), Tshepo Tshite (1,500 m), Adrian Wildschutt (5,000 m and 10,000 m), Jovan van Vuuren (long jump), Francois Prinsloo (discus), Stephen Mokoka (marathon), 4 x 100 m relay team and 4 x 400 m – relay team.

  • Swimming: Pieter Coetzé, Chad le Clos, Matthew Sates, Aimee Canny, Tatjana Smith, Kaylene Corbett, Erin Gallagher and Rebecca Meder
  • Rowing: Tiffany Koch, Esti Olivier, Hamish Lovemore and Andrew Birkett
  • Surfing: Jordy Smith, Matthew McGillivray and Sarah-Ann Baum
  • Wrestling: Steyn de Lange
  • Gymnastics: Caitlyn Rooskrantz
  • Sport climbing: Aniya Holder, Joshua Bruyns, Lauren Mukheibir and Mel Janse van Rensburg.