Flash goats rely on ‘fresh bones’ in Perth


The next tournament of the HSBC sevens series starts on Friday in Perth and the Blitzbokke will hope for a better performance than in Cape Town.

The South African sevens team is in the same group as Canada and Spain, but their final group game against Argentina could be decisive.

The flying Argentinians won the Cape Town tournament in a trot and they are the perfect opponents to measure your progress – or probably the lack of it – against.

Sandile Ngcobo, coach, relies on some exciting young players to swing the momentum scale again in the South Africans’ favour.

Fifteen-man stars such as David Brits and Tristan Leyds are included in the group.

Brits held up the Currie Cup with the Free State Cheetahs last year, while Leyds’ older brother, Dillyn, played in ten games for the Springboks.

“We decided on fresh legs for this tournament and we chose a very fast team,” said Ngcobo.

“David and Tristan are admittedly still sevens rookies, but they have played fifteen-man rugby at a very high level and they have good rugby knowledge. In addition, they have already shown on the training field that they can also be successful in the blitz format of the game.”

For his part, Brits said he was persuaded to make a success of his move.

“I love a challenge and I would like to contribute to the team’s success this weekend. We have fast players and it is my job to create the necessary opportunities for them so that they can showcase those skills,” he said.

Blitzboks: Ryan Oosthuizen, Zain Davids, James Murphy, Masande Mtshali, David Brits, Katlego Letebele, Ronald Brown, Selvyn Davids (captain), Ricardo Duarttee, Tristan Leyds, Shilton van Wyk, Quewin Nortjé and Donovan Don.

Perth Terms:


06:44: South Africa vs Canada

12:22: South Africa v Spain


06:38: South Africa vs Argentina.