Four new tracks visit this Top-20


Rooksein make their appearance again on the RNews Afrikaans Top-20 this week with their latest single, “Hey jy”. Rooksein established themselves as a group after “Kyk na my hart” and “Damlelilief” reached gold status. The group initially wrote “Hey jy” for another artist, but later decided to record it themselves instead.

Janie Bay and Elandré joined forces to record a song together and the result is “Die einde” – a captivating pop song that deals with difficult times, resilience and the enduring hope that love can conquer all. The song was written by Janie Bay with input from Elandré.

Other songs that make their entry into the Top-20 this week are Droomsyndrome with “Jonk en danig” and Bobby van Jaarsveld with “Toe, now and always”.

In this week’s Top-20 there are seven songs that climb, six that lose their places, four new songs that enter the Top-20 and three songs that remain unchanged.

1. Apple – “Faults”
2. Riana Nel – “What now?”
3. Eloff – “Cold coals”
4. Barto – “Impulsive”
5. The Banana Peels – “Lyntjie”
6. Jay – “Naughty Ass”
7. Barto – “H2Eyes”
8. Brendan Peyper – “Tour around the floor”
9. Die Heuwels Fantastic with Appel – “Nora Vlok”
10. Apple – “Diana”
11. Bobby van Jaarsveld – “Then, now and always”
12. Barto – “Flame in the wind”
13. Apple – “Sugarbush”
14. Smoke Signal – “Hey you”
15. Dodo Nyoka – “Frikkie for a while”
16. Ricus Nel – “Khaki”
17. Dream syndrome – “Young and young”
18. Janie Bay with Elandré – “The End”
19. Dodo Nyoka – “Photos”
20. Ruhan du Toit – “Stockholm syndrome”

New releases:

Alterego, which consists of Darren and Justin Oates, has just released their latest song, “Jy’s lief vir my”. This song, which was written by the two themselves, contains touching lyrics that perfectly encapsulate the theme of a budding romance.

When vulnerability and liberation intertwine like the first raindrops, Vrede’s “Bad hole in the rain” captures the essence of human emotions beautifully. The group says the rain symbolizes both the tears of sadness and a character who finally dances to peace within ourselves.

Other songs released are Ellard’s “Liefde brand”, Janie Bay with Elandré’s “Die einde”, Elvis Blue’s “Die langpad gee nie om nie”, Raaf’s “I play with fire for you”, Rooksein’s “Hey jy”, Droomsyndrome’s “Jonk en danig”, Wenzel’s “Night hat”, Snacci together with Slamma D’s “Nert jou lyf”, Jaco Meyer’s “Pilansberg”, Bobby van Jaarsveld’s “Toe, now and always”, Liezel Pieters’ “Waar ek hoert” and Jaccques not Jack’s “Waar is my manners?”.

* The RNews Afrikaans Top-20 is compiled by single releases and various data factors are taken into account: Apple Music and Spotify streams, YouTube views (specifically week-to-week data) as well as radio playtime. Physical album sales have no influence on this hit parade.