It rained sixes in IPL


The ball was sent over the boundary rope 1,260 times in the Indian Premier League this year – a new record for the most sixes in a single tournament.

Heinrich Klaasen hit the second most sixes (38) in the tournament, while Tristan Stubbs (26) is also among the leading six hitters.

Moreover, the four highest scores in IPL history were also hit this year.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad accounted for innings of 287/3, 277/3 and 266/7, while the Kolkata Knight Riders scored 272/7.

These two teams met in Sunday’s final where the Sunrisers were bowled out for just 113 runs.

In addition to Klaasen and Stubbs’ performances, it was a disappointing tournament for the other South African batsmen.

Aiden Markram and David Miller could only score one fifty each in as many tries, while Quinton de Kock was also not at his best.

The Proteas play against Sri Lanka on June 3 in their first T20 World Cup clash and boast a formidable batting line-up of De Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Ryan Rickelton, Markram, Miller, Klaasen and Stubbs.

They undoubtedly have the ability to smash any bowling attack to shreds, but the IPL has shown that they also have leg-spinners of clay at times.

T20 World Cup Fixtures:

June 3: South Africa v Sri Lanka in New York

8 June: South Africa vs Netherlands in New York

June 10: South Africa v Bangladesh in New York

14 June: South Africa vs Nepal in St. Vincent

June 19: Playoffs begin

June 29: Final in Barbados.