It’s no joke! Schuster enters this Top-20


With the Rugby World Cup kicking off soon, Leon Schuster once again used the opportunity to put together a nice Bok album. It promises to be very successful like his previous Bok album during the 1995 Rugby World Cup.

Schuster’s track, “Die Bokmajsieen”, enters this week’s RNews Afrikaans Top-20 at number 19.

After more than three years, Juanita du Plessis spoils again with a brand new single, “Lieve jinne!”. The song was written by Juanita herself and produced by Murray Lubbe. Juanita says that this song takes her back to her younger days where communities just spontaneously got together for a visit and of course the dance floor danced white hot.

Kurt Darren, Eloff and Ricus Nel team up for a nice Afrikaans pop song, “Kwagga Karnaval”. The song makes its entry at number 18.

For the time being, the Piesangskille remain at both the number 1 and 2 positions with “Inge 2” and “Lyntjie” respectively.

In this week’s Top-20, there are two songs that climb, seven that lose their places, three songs that enter the Top-20 for the week and eight songs that remain unchanged.

1. The Banana Peels – “Inge 2”
2. The Banana Peels – “Lyntjie”
3. Juanita du Plessis – “Dear jinn!”
4. Apple – “Faults”
5. Bernice West – “If He Comes Again”
6. Barto – “H2Eyes”
7. Eloff – “Cold coals”
8. Brendan Peyper – “Tour around the floor”
9. Barto – “Impulsive”
10. Smoke signal – “Hey you”
11. Die Heuwels Fantastic with Appel – “Nora Vlok”
12. Bobby van Jaarsveld – “Then, now and always”
13. Apple – “Diana”
14. Jay – “Naughty Ass”
15. Apple – “Sugarbush”
16. Janie Bay with Elandré – “The End”
17. Dream syndrome – “Young and young”
18. Kurt Darren with Eloff and Ricus Nel – “Kwagga carnival”
19. Leon Schuster – “The Goat Machine”
20. Dodo Nyoka – “Frikikie for a while”

New releases:

“We will stay young” is Nicholis Louw’s latest single. The song has come a long way with Nicholis. He already got the inspiration for this song in 2010, but it literally took him years to write down the right lyrics and theme for this song.

With “Ons sal jonk bly” Nicholis shares his personal experience of growth, wisdom and contentment. “We all get older and that’s just the way it is, but that doesn’t mean we have to lose our youth and zest for life,” says Nicholis.

Other songs that have been released are Zondagkraal’s “Brandweerwag”, Anneke Coetzee’s “Donkerblou”, Lila Swift’s “Net ø bijte, Nico Etzebeth with “Bokke spring”, Leon Schuster’s “Die Bokmasjien”, Kurt Darren with Eloff and Ricus Nel with “Kwagga carnival”, Carlissa’s “Look at me”, Jean Henry’s “Laaste dans”, Van Pletzen’s “Zaberfluten”, Anrich’s “Ice and caffeine”, Jack Parow with Loki Rothman’s “White flag” , Christiaan Baartman with Mack Rapapali’s “Stukkie”, Pieter Bezuidenhout’s “Liglied”, Juan Griffith’s “Mal” and Juanita du Plessis’ “Lieve jinne!”.

* The RNews Afrikaans Top-20 is compiled by single releases and various data factors are taken into account: Apple Music and Spotify streams, YouTube views (specifically week-to-week data) as well as radio playtime. Physical album sales have no influence on this hit parade.