Jong Bokke found too light against Aussies


The Junior Springboks are still looking for their first win of the o. 20-Rugby Championship after they got bogged down against Australia today at a wet Sunshine Coast stadium.

The South Africans lost a sloppy game 24 – 19 and it was especially their finishing and handling that let them down.

However, they defended superbly.

In players like JF van Heerden, Ethan Bester and Divan Fuller, the young Bokkies have more than enough hitting power to completely overpower their opponents up front.

However, it was the Aussies who waved the scepter in the fixed facets and at half-time they enjoyed a lead of 10 – 7.

Van Heerden could have scored a try in the first half, but the Australians enjoyed the majority of possession while they also looked more dangerous on the attack.

Then Mbasa Maqubela’s red card – he dived a little too enthusiastically at a loose scrum – had anything but a positive influence on the South Africans’ match campaign.

When the game resumed, it looked like the two teams were taking turns to hit the ball. Many promising attacking opportunities were ruined by poor handling (and also good defending) and it was a pleasant surprise when Litelihle Bester burst through the Aussie defence.

Thurlon Williams took care of the additional points with his kicking shoe and suddenly South Africa enjoyed a lead of 14 – 10.

However, Australia was able to hit back immediately when a brilliant Angus Staniforth drove Shane Wilcox through for another try.

The young Boks’ floundering in the scrum led to further consternation and a later penalty try was probably the final nail in their coffin.

Still, they refused to lie down and a flying Bester scored his second try of the matchup after following up Jurenzo Julius’ kick excellently.

But it was already too late.

Junior Springboks: Michail Damon (full back), Joshua Boulle (right wing), Jurenzo Julius (outside centre), Phillip-Albert van Niekerk (inside centre), Litelihle Bester (left wing), Thurlon Williams (fly-half), Asad Moos (scrum-half), Tiaan Jacobs (eighth man) , Keanu Coetsee (flank), Divan Fuller (flank), JF van Heerden (lock and captain), Bathobele Hlekani (lock), Reno Hirst (prop), Ethan Bester (hooker) and Mbasa Maqubela (prop). Substitutes: CJ Erasmus, Liyema Ntshanga, Casper Badenhorst, Adam de Waal, Thabang Mphafi, Hassiem Pead, Bruce Sherwood and JC Mars.