Kitshoff back on old home ground


Steven Kitshoff trots out at the DHL Stadium again on Saturday, but this time the Springbok prop will be in the colors of Ulster.

The former Stormers captain will wear the number one jersey for the visiting Irish club team in their United Rugby Championship clash with the Cape Town.

Under the World Cup winner’s guidance, the Stormers at the time held up the silverware in his first HRC season, while losing to Munster in the final last year.

This is Kitshoff’s first game back in Cape Town since he became part of the Belfast set-up after the World Cup spectacle in Paris.

After a slow start with his new team, the Ulster scrum caught fire in the meantime and Dan McFarland was full of praise for the South African import product.

“I think his general game – and not just his scrum – is one of his biggest strengths. He carries the ball excellently, he defends well and he is always a danger on the pitch,” said the former Ulster coach.

Kitshoff will face an initial Stormers front line of Brok Harris, Joseph Dweba and Neethling Fouché, while Frans Malherbe waits on the substitutes’ bench.

Meanwhile, Hacjivah Dayimani will play in his 50th game for the Cape Town and coach John Dobson hopes that his team will build on their good performance against Edinburgh.

“We were good in attack against Edinburgh, but we know we can play with more precision. We will definitely have to be at our best against Ulster,” said Dobson.

The match starts at 19:15 on Saturday and it will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Stormers: Warrick Gelant (full back), Suleiman Hartzenberg (right wing), Dan du Plessis (outside centre), Damian Willemse (inside centre), Leolin Zas (left wing), Manie Libbok (fly-half), Paul de Wet (scrum-half), Evan Roos (eighth man), Hacjivah Dayimani (flank), Willie Engelbrecht (flank), Ruben van Heerden (lock), Salmaan Moerat (lock and captain), Neethling Fouché (prop), Joseph Dweba (hooker) and Brok Harris (prop). Substitutes: JJ Kotze, Leon Lyons, Frans Malherbe, Adre Smith, Ben-Jason Dixon, Marcell Theunissen, Herschel Jantjies and Ben Loader.

Ulster: Mike Lowry (full back), Rob Baloucoune (right wing), James Hume (outside centre), Stuart McCloskey (inside centre), Ethan McIlroy (left wing), Nathan Doak (fly-half), John Cooney (scrum-half), Nick Timoney (eighth man), David McCann (flank), Matty Rea (flank), Kieran Treadwell (lock), Harry Sheridan (lock), Tom O’Toole (prop), Rob Herring (hooker and captain) and Steven Kitshoff (prop). Subs: Tom Stewart, Andrew Warwick, Scott Wilson, Cormac Izuchukwu, Marcus Rea, Dave Shanahan, Jake Flannery and Stewart Moore.