Kurt’s song about Dricus enters Top-20


Kurt Darren’s latest release, “They don’t know what we know”, entered the RNews Afrikaans Top-20 in 20th place after mixed martial arts champion Dricus du Plessis’ historic victory in Canada.

South Africans were overwhelmed with joy on Sunday morning when Dricus won the middleweight world title in mixed martial arts from American Sean Strickland.

“They don’t know what we know”, Dricus’ now famous words, inspired Kurt to write this song.

While he was writing the song, he contacted Dricus and told him: “You’re a songwriter now too”. Although Dricus did not co-write the song with Kurt, Kurt felt that Dricus also deserved to share in the royalties. After the weekend’s big moment for Dricus, this song’s popularity skyrocketed.

However, Eloff’s “Vlerke” remains in the number one position for the time being.

There are eight songs that climb into this week’s Top-20, one new song that enters the hit parade, six that remain unchanged and five songs that lose their places.

1. Eloff – “Wings”
2. Demi Lee Moore – “Heartbreak”
3. The Banana Peels – “Inge 2”
4. Dodo Nyoka – “Country girl from Bloem”
5. Chris Steyn – “Totally”
6. Riaan Benadé – “Boxing Dais”
7. Bok van Blerk – “It’s touching”
8. Juanita du Plessis – “Dear jinn!”
9. The Banana Peels – “Her name was Summer”
10. Apple – “Buffels of Buffelfontein”
11. Elandré – “Please”
12. Brendan Peyper – “Tired Dance”
13. Dream Syndrome – “Dance Alone”
14. The Banana Peels – “Lyntjie”
15. Karlien van Jaarsveld – “Als is okay”
16. Barto – “H2Eyes”
17. Apple – “Mistakes”
18. Eloff – “Cold coals”
19. Die Heuwels Fantasties with Werner van der Hoven – “Summer in my throat”
20. Kurt Darren – “They Don’t Know What We Know”

RNnews’s choice:

Each week, one of RNews’s journalists shares five of their favorite Afrikaans songs. Enjoy the variety!

Leonie Bezuidenhout, entertainment journalist from RNews, shares the top five Afrikaans songs that stand out to her this week.

1. “They don’t know what we know” – Kurt Darren
In the spirit of UFC middleweight champion Dricus “Stillknocks” du Plessis’ historic victory this weekend in Canada.
2. “Therapy for now” – Zaan Sonnekus
3. “Pietie Beyers” – Almero
4. “Coastline Fever” – Aya Nixon
5. “Forgiven and forgotten” – Elandré and The Melktert Commission

* The RNews Afrikaans Top-20 is compiled by single releases and various data factors are taken into account: Apple Music and Spotify streams, YouTube views (specifically week-to-week data), as well as radio playtime. Physical album sales have no influence on this hit parade.