Lights, camera and six-hit action!


The SA20 action begins today when the Sunrisers Eastern Cape take on the Joburg Super Kings at St. George park forces measure.

And in addition to the financial boost Cricket South Africa (CSA) is hoping for between the boundary hits and catches, the tournament is also important for the players.

South Africa will play in its first match of the T20 World Cup against Sri Lanka in New York on 3 June and with a clean target-and-mocker calendar awaiting the team, the SA20 tournament serves as a dress rehearsal for the international spectacle.

Up-and-coming stars such as Jordan Hermann and Donovan Ferreira can get a chance to show what they are capable of today, while battlehorses such as Faf du Plessis and Imran Tahir will also want to showcase their experience.

On top of that, Nandre Burger was persuaded to take the SA20 wickets for the Johannesburgers.

The left-arm fast bowler made his international debut against the visiting Indians and he impressed with his pace and passion.

Actually, captain Du Plessis has a formidable fast attack at his disposal: Gerald Coetzee is also part of the Super Kings set-up.

“It’s always nice when Gerald and I can bowl together. We have a very good understanding and we complement each other well,” said Burger.

In contrast, the Sunrisers can rely on the batting of Aiden Markram, Dawid Malan and Tristan Stubbs, while Temba Bavuma is also in the Eastern Cape’s squad.

The match kicks off this afternoon at 17:30 and the action will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

  • Groups:

Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Dawid Malan, Liam Dawson, Marco Jansen, Patrick Kruger, Tristan Stubbs, Brydon Carse, Temba Bavuma, Sarel Erwee, Jordan Hermann, Aya Gqamane, Adam Rossington, Tom Abell, Caleb Seleka, Beyers Swanepoel , Andile Simelane and Simon Harmer.

Joburg Super Kings: Faf du Plessis (captain), Gerald Coetzee, Moeen Ali, David Wiese, Sam Cook, Zahir Khan, Leus du Plooy, Reeza Hendricks, Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger, Donovan Ferreira, Aaron Phangiso, Sibonelo Makhanya, Kyle Simmonds, Wayne Madsen, Romaria Shepherd, Dayyaan Galiem, Ronan Hermann and Imran Tahir.