Netball bosses are still waiting with Protea team announcement


The official announcement of the Protea netball team will take place once the new head coach has been appointed.

“We felt that it is better to wait for the appointment of the new coach before finalizing the group of 15 Protea players. It is the coach who will work with the players; therefore it is only fair that she is involved in the selection process,” said Cecilia Molokwane, president of Netball South Africa.

A group of 30 players – including well-known stars such as Karla Pretorius, Ine-Marí Venter and Nicholé Taljaard – were shortlisted after a recent training camp in Stellenbosch to make things easier for the new coach.

“The selectors have identified a group which, in their opinion, is the best from the original invited group; the players serve, as it were, as a good starting point for the new coach.”

According to Molokwane, the 15 players in the final group will receive payment from 1 January 2024 according to the contract.

She also confirmed that the new head coach and her technical team will be named in February.

The Protea netball team is undoubtedly in a rebuilding phase after the retirement of stalwarts such as Bongi Msomi and Phumza Maweni, while the experienced Norma Plummer has also decided to put away her coaching whistle.

The 79-year-old Plummer was singled out by many players as the reason for the Proteas’ stronger performances on the netball court.

“Thanks to her hard work, we started to believe in our abilities on the court – we no longer only participate in tournaments, we also know that we are good enough to win. She established a winning culture in the team and did an incredible amount for all of us,” said Msomi of the Australian netball legend.

Players on the Protea shortlist after the training camp: Lefébre Rademan, Nicholé Taljaard, Owethu Ngubane, Rolene Streutker, Kamogelo Maseko, Sian Moore, Tinita van Dyk, Muhluri Hlatshwayo, Elmeré van der Berg, Nomfundo Mngomezulu, Ine-Marí Venter, Khanyisa Chawane, Refiloe Nketsa, Jeanté Strydom, Lungile Mthembu, Shannen Bartlett, Bianca de Wee, Amber Coraizin, Tarle Mathe, Nichola Smith, Jamie van Wyk, Boitumelo Mahloko, Ané Retief, Karla Pretorius, Nozipho Ntshangase, Martiné Jordaan, Nonsikelelo Mazibuko, Noluthando Maliehe, Alice Kennon and Milla Coetzee.