Pollard but Farrell’s tiger again


Handré Pollard once again came up with a stellar performance in Leicester Tigers’ 19-10 win against Saracens at the Welford Road Stadium.

The Springbok flyhalf was spot on with two set-piece attempts – his final goal put the game beyond the reach of Owen Farrell’s Saracens – while he also impressed with his vision on the field.

His sharp pass in the 61st minute of the game sent right winger Harry Simmons into the corner.

According to RugbyPass, Pollard enjoyed going up against Farrell again, while he pulled the strings at Welford Road like a Wafferian field marshal.

“He was way better than the struggling Farrell and his great work in the run-up to Simmons’ try was the icing on the cake,” was the rugby website’s touching summary.

The 29-year-old South African’s successful penalty kick attempt in the 78th minute of the World Cup semi-final against Farrell’s England ensured that the Springboks finished the match 16 – 15.

In contrast, it was just a bad week for Saracens.

In addition to the defeat against the Tigers – this is the third time in four games where they walk off the field as losers – there are also rumors that captain Farrell could soon play for Racing 92 in France.

Midi Olympique reported on Friday that the 32-year-old flyhalf is apparently considering signing a two-year contract with the Parisian club.

  • Scorers:

Leicester Tigers: Tries: Dan Kelly, Matt Rogerson and Harry Simmons. Goals: Pollard (2).

Saracens: Tom Parton. Goal kick: Owen Farrell. Penalty: Farrell.

  • Teams:

Leicester Tigers: Freddie Steward, Harry Simmons, Dan Kelly, Solomone Kata, Mike Brown, Handré Pollard, Tom Whiteley, Jasper Wiese, Tommy Reffell, Matt Rogerson, Ollie Chessum, George Martin, Joe Heyes, Julian Montoya (captain) and James Cronin. Substitutes: Finn Theobold-Thomas, Francois van Wyk, Will Hurd, Harry Wells, Kyle Hatherell, Olly Cracknell, Ben Youngs and Jamie Shillcock.

Saracens: Tom Parton, Rotimi Segun, Elliot Daly, Nick Tompkins, Lucio Cinti, Owen Farrell (captain), Gareth Simpson, Ben Earl, Juan Martin Gonzalez, Theo McFarland, Hugh Tizard, Maro Itoje, Christian Judge, Kapeli Pifeleti and Sam Crean. Substitutes: Theo Dan, Logovi’i Mulipola, Ollie Hoskins, Nick Isiekwe, Andy Christie, Ivan van Zyl, Manu Vanipola and Alex Lewington.