Proteas’ World Cup begins in New York


The terms for the T20 World Cup are known and the Proteas’ campaign officially begins on June 3 in New York.

The target-and-mocker spectacle is being hosted by the USA and the West Indies this year.

South Africa has been placed in Group D of the tournament along with Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Nepal, while the Netherlands – a team against whom the Proteas chew rocks – also awaits in the group stage.

The Proteas lost to the Dutch in Australia in 2022, while they also lost to the underdogs in India last year.

The play-offs of the tournament begin on June 19, while the final will be decided on June 29 in Barbados.


Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda and
Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal


June 3: South Africa v Sri Lanka in New York

8 June: South Africa vs Netherlands in New York

June 10: South Africa v Bangladesh in New York

14 June: South Africa vs Nepal in St. Vincent

June 19: Playoffs begin

June 29: Final in Barbados