Proteas’ World Cup squad announced


The Proteas’ World Cup squad for the international one-day cricket spectacle in India was announced today at Gray College; a tradition-rich school that boasts former players such as Hansie Cronjé, Kepler Wessels and Nicky Bojé.

Temba Bavuma will lead a group of 15 players made up of all the familiar faces.

Quinton de Kock is likely to open the innings alongside Bavuma, while Rassie van der Dussen, Reeza Hendricks and Aiden Markram are the other top-order batsmen.

Heinrich Klaasen and David Miller will later have to take care of the fireworks display to try and end the Protea innings on a high note.

Although the Proteas no longer have the versatile stars of old – think of Shaun Pollock, Jacques Kallis and Lance Klusener – for example, Keshav Maharaj and Marco Jansen will try to make their mark with bat and ball.

Kagiso Rabada and the lightning-fast Anrich Nortjé will lead the South African bowling attack, while the exciting Gerald Coetzee is also among the elite group of players.

However, there is no place for Dewald Brevis or Tristan Stubbs.

South Africa has already qualified for the semi-finals four times (in 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2015), but they have never been able to play in a final.

The team was also eliminated in the group phase during the previous tournament in England.

Proteas’ World Cup squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortjé, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi and Rassie van der Dussen .


October 7: South Africa vs Sri Lanka

October 12: South Africa vs Australia

17 October: South Africa vs Netherlands

21 October: South Africa v England

October 24: South Africa vs Bangladesh

October 27: South Africa vs Pakistan

November 1: South Africa v New Zealand

10 November: South Africa vs Afghanistan

November 15: Playoffs begin.