Red Bull is rewriting the history books


A flying Max Verstappen saw to it that Red Bull’s name was written in the history books today in Hungary.

It was the team’s 12th victory in a row – a new F1 record. The previous record stood behind McLaren’s name when Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost won back-to-back races in 1988.

Verstappen also beat his nearest rival – Lando Norris in a McLaren – by 33 seconds. This is the young Dutchman’s seventh individual victory in a row and he currently has no equal on a race track.

Sergio Perez ensured that another Red Bull racer was on the podium, but he had to stop just before the finish line to fend off a renewed attack from Lewis Hamilton.

So speaking of Hamilton; the 38-year-old Briton started very first, but he was overtaken by Verstappen and Oscar Piastri in the blink of an eye.

In the end, he had to settle for fourth place.

Things don’t seem to be getting much better for Charles Leclerc either. The Ferrari racer once again butted heads with his team over race strategy, while he was also fined a few valuable seconds for driving too fast in the pits.

Daniel Ricciardo celebrated his racetrack return with a 13th place for AlphaTauri.

“To celebrate 12 victories with the team is an incredible experience. Hopefully we can keep the momentum on our side. I enjoy working with the whole team,” Verstappen said after the race.


  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  3. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  4. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  5. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
  6. George Russell (Mercedes)
  7. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  8. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  9. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)
  10. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  11. Alex Albon (Williams)
  12. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
  13. Daniel Ricciardo (AlphaTauri)

Driver scoring:

  1. Max Verstappen: 281 points
  2. Sergio Perez: 171 points
  3. Fernando Alonso: 139 points
  4. Lewis Hamilton: 133 points
  5. George Russell: 90 points
  6. Carlos Sainz: 87 points
  7. Charles Leclerc: 80 points
  8. Lando Norris: 60 points
  9. Lance Stroll: 45 points
  10. Esteban Ocon: 31 points

Manufacturer Punctuation:

  1. Red Bull: 452 points
  2. Mercedes: 223 points
  3. Aston Martin: 184 points
  4. Ferrari: 167 points
  5. McLaren: 87 points