Rugby Championship: All Blacks sweep the Wallabies


It took the All Blacks just three minutes to win this year’s Rugby Championship in Melbourne on Saturday when they demolished the Wallabies 38-7 in front of 84,000 spectators.

The All Blacks finished the championship undefeated after earlier beating the Argentine Pumas 41-12 and the Springboks 35-20 for an average score of 38-13.

The Springboks certainly had false hopes in their hotel in Sandton in front of the television that the Wallabies might be able to cause a shock to beat the All Blacks. This could have left the door open for the Boks to win the Rugby Championship if they beat the Argentine Pumas at Ellis Park on Saturday afternoon.

But when the All Black lock Scott Barrett burst through a lineout in the third minute and knocked over the Wallabies scrumhalf, Tate McDermott, with ball and all, the first cracks were there.

The ball bounced and Shannon Frizzell scored the All Blacks’ first try.

Granted, the Wallabies led for almost 25 minutes after eight-man Rob Valetini scored a try, but it was only a matter of time before the dam would burst.

The All Blacks were 19-7 ahead at half-time and dominated the Wallabies in all facets.

They scored six tries to one and, according to the match statistics, advanced the ball much further (714m to 490m), made many more passes and conceded far fewer tackles (18 to 37).

They enjoyed territory advantage, dominated possession and strangled the Wallabies.

In addition, the Wallabies received two yellow cards and their two tight ends, the captain Allan Alaalatoa and his substitute Taniela Tupou, are off the field with serious injuries.

Before kick-off, the Wallabies (probably just one of Eddie Jones’ silly ideas) accepted the All Blacks’ challenge to place a boomerang in front of the All Blacks during the haka.

It boomeranged.

The teams will now play against each other again this coming Saturday in a Bledisloe test.

Yes, there were flashes in the first half on the Wallabies side, but the Aussies do not have the necessary firepower to tame game breakers such as Will Jordan, Mark Telea, Richie Mo’unga, the three Barrett brothers and Ardie Savea.

Scorers: New Zealand: 38 (19) Tries: Shannon Frizell, Codie Taylor, Will Jordan, Caleb Clarke, Mark Telea, Rieko Ioane. Goals: Richie Mo’unga (4).

Australia 7 (7) Three: Rob Valetini. Goal kick: Carter Gordon.