SA’s Baragwanath 2nd in tough Dakar stage


South Africa’s Brian Baragwanath and Leonard Cremer of the Overdrive Racing team finished second in Wednesday’s Dakar action.

They completed the tenth shift in a time of 03:25:10; 5:43 minutes behind stage winners Guerlain Chicherit and Alex Winocq.

Meanwhile, Sebastian Loeb is within striking distance of Carlos Sainz in the overall standings. The Frenchman, who has stood on the second highest step of the podium for the past few years, is now only 13:22 minutes behind the field rally leader.

However, Loeb and Sainz experienced two mechanical problems in the tenth stage and they finished 16th and 22nd respectively.

“It was a difficult day for us. We struggled with our jack and then we got some flat tires on top of that. In doing so we lost about 15 minutes. The shifts honestly just get harder,” Loeb said.

Results (tenth shift):

  1. Guerlain Chicherit and Alex Winocq (Overdrive Racing): 03:19:27
  2. Brian Baragwanath and Leonard Cremer (Century Racing): 03:25:10
  3. Benediktas Vanagas and Kuldar Sikk (Toyota Gazoo Racing Baltics): 03:25:31
  4. Eugenio Amos and Paolo Ceci (Overdrive Racing): 03:25:36
  5. Romain Dumas and Max Delfino (Rebellion Racing): 03:26:39
  6. Mathieu Serradori and Loic Minaudier (Century Racing): 03:29:30
  7. Juan Cruz Yacopini and Daniel Oliveras Carreras (Overdrive Racing): 03:29:54
  8. Cristian Baumgart and Alberto Andreotti (X Rally): 03:30:48
  9. Martin Prokop and Viktor Chytka (Orlen Jipocar): 03:31:25
  10. Guillaume de Mevius and Xavier Panseri (Overdrive Racing): 03:31:28

Overall timing:

  1. Carlos Sainz and Lucas Cruz: 41:35:12
  2. Sebastian Loeb and Fabian Lurquin: 41:48:34
  3. Lucas Moraes and Armand Monleon: 42:37:56
  4. Guillaume de Mevius and Xavier Panseri: 43:02:21
  5. Guerlain Chicherit and Alex Winocq: 43:23:07
  6. Mathieu Serradori and Loic Minaudier: 43:24:11
  7. Martin Prokop and Viktor Chytka: 43:35:10
  8. Giniel de Villiers and Dennis Murphy: 43:52:32
  9. Guy Botterill and Brett Cummings: 43:59:38
  10. Benediktas Vanagas and Kuldar Sikk: 44:16:03.

Jeanette Kok-Kritzinger from Wiele2Wiele and Stephie Vetter from the Southern Africa Dakar Group keep us informed of what is happening in the Dakar Rally and how our Southern African participants are doing.