Scots want to pluck Hane’s tail feathers at Murrayfield


Last weekend, Scotland tasted its first victory in years against a spirited Wales in Cardiff and now the team is keeping its fingers crossed that the bagpipes will also blare in Edinburgh.

The Scots play in their second match of the latest Six Nations tournament against France at the iconic Murrayfield on Saturday and according to coach Gregor Townsend they plan to turn the taps on big.

Especially after the Roosters lost badly to Ireland in Marseille earlier.

“Any team is vulnerable. When you play good rugby and put your opponents under pressure, they will struggle to get a foothold in the game. That’s our goal against France,” said Townsend.

Scotland has undoubtedly made its voice heard in its last two games against the French. There was the 25–21 victory at Murrayfield itself, after which they lost away from home by three points (30–27).

“We are going to do our best not to leave France alone for a second and make sure that we win the game.”

The Scots again boast a few South African-born players – Duhan van der Merwe, Kyle Steyn and Pierre Schoeman – in their starting team.

The match starts at 16:15 on Saturday and the action will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Scotland: Kyle Rowe (full back), Kyle Steyn (right wing), Huw Jones (outside centre), Sione Tuipulotu (inside centre), Duhan van der Merwe (left wing), Finn Russell (fly-half), Ben White (scrum-half), Jack Dempsey (eighth man), Rory Darge (flank), Matt Fagerson (flank), Scott Cummings (lock), Grant Gilchrist (lock), Zander Fagerson (prop), George Turner (hooker) and Pierre Schoeman (prop). Subs: Ewan Ashman, Alec Hepburn, Elliot Millar-Mills, Sam Skinner, Andy Christie, George Horne, Ben Healy and Cameron Redpath.

France: Thomas Ramos (full back), Damian Penaud (right wing), Gael Fickou (outside centre), Jonathan Danty (inside centre), Louis Bielle-Biarrey (left wing), Matthieu Jalibert (fly-half), Maxime Lucu (scrum-half), Gregory Alldritt (eighth man), Charles Ollivon (flank), Francois Cros (flank), Paul Gabrillagues (lock), Cameron Woki (lock), Uini Atonio (prop), Peato Mauvaka (hook) and Cyril Baille (prop). Substitutes: Julien Marchand, Romain Taofifenua, Dorian Aldegheri, Posolo Tuilagi, Alexandre Roumat, Paul Boudehent, Nolann le Garrec and Yoram Moefana.