Sharks select Dyantyi on the wing


The flashy Aphiwe Dyantyi wears the no. 11 jersey for the Sharks when the Durbanites play against the Ospreys in a United Rugby Championship match (VRC) on the Twickenham Stoop.

It will be a match of firsts: not only is it the first time that a HRC matchup has been decided in England, but Dyantyi is also making his first-team return after his suspension for the use of banned substances.

The 29-year-old full-back made his international debut against England at Ellis Park in 2018 and the speedster immediately celebrated the achievement with a try.

He ended up scoring six tries in his 13 tests and his career definitely followed an upward curve when he was named the international rookie of the year.

However, a positive test for banned substances in 2019 led to a four-year suspension.

Dyantyi has maintained from the outset that he is innocent of the use of anabolic steroids. Among other things, he said that he believes in hard work and fair play.

His suspension officially came to an end on August 12 and the Sharks had earlier confirmed that he would become part of their set-up.

He came up with a solid performance from the substitutes’ bench against Leinster last weekend and he will now fill Marnus Potgieter’s shoes in the Sharks back line.

“I promise to give my very best when I pull the jersey over my head. I have been in Durban for some time now and I have seen what the Sharks mean to many people. I want to contribute to that feeling of pride through what I do on and off the field,” Dyantyi said at the time.

The match kicks off tonight at 21:35 and the action will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Sharks: Aphelele Fassi (full back), Werner Kok (right wing), Francois Venter (outside center and captain), Rohan Janse van Rensburg (inside centre), Aphiwe Dyantyi (left wing), Curwin Bosch (fly-half), Cameron Wright (scrum-half), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (eighth man ), Phepsi Buthelezi (flank), James Venter (flank), Emile van Heerden (lock), Corné Rahl (lock), Coenie Oosthuizen (prop), Dylan Richardson (hook) and Ntuthuko Mchunu (prop). Substitutes: Kerron van Vuuren, Dian Bleuler, Hanro Jacobs, Hyron Andrews, George Cronje, Zee Mkhabela, Boeta Chamberlain and Murray Koster.