Smaller parties ask for meeting on unity government


Several of the smaller political parties have written to Chief Justice Raymond Zondo in which they request an urgent meeting on the formation of a government of national unity.

The parties include the UDM, ACDP, ATM, Bosa, PAC and UAT. In the letter signed by Bantu Holomisa, leader of the UDM, and sent on behalf of him and the other parties, it is argued that South Africa finds itself at a decisive turning point in history.

“It is against this background that the leaders of various political parties must call a meeting that will pay attention to the challenges of the intended government and give fulfillment to the constitutional heritage as enshrined in the foundations of the Constitution and by extension the Constitutional Court,” the letter reads.

The parties believe that such a meeting should serve as a platform for promoting a transparent collaborative agenda for South Africa. According to them, Pres. Cyril Ramaphosa’s announcement that the ANC wants to form a government of national unity has “significant implications for the future management and direction of our country”.

“Given the importance of this matter, we believe it is essential that all leaders of political parties represented in parliament come together to discuss the agenda of the government, especially as it relates to the intended seventh administration. Based on the outcomes of the election, the process cannot be left to just one party to lead and convene, but rather it must be a gathering of many stakeholders in a spirit of cooperation.”

The parties request Zondo to convene and facilitate such a meeting. “We believe that your esteemed office, as the custodian of the Constitution and guardian of our democracy, is best placed to oversee such an important gathering.”

According to the parties involved, the purpose of the meeting will be to engage in constructive dialogue and deliberation on the proposed government of national unity and the government’s agenda for the next five years.

“We are committed to working together in the best interests of all South Africans and believe that a collaborative approach is essential to meeting the many challenges facing our nation.”