Swiss summit to chart path to peace for Ukraine


World leaders are meeting this weekend in Switzerland in an effort to find a lasting solution to the conflict between Russia and Ukraine.

The summit runs from Thursday to Saturday in southern Italy and follows the G7 summit.

However, Russia will not attend the summit.

The G7 will consider how to use Russian assets to give Ukraine new aid after Russia invaded its neighbor in February 2022.

Ukraine’s pres. Wolodimir Zelenski will travel to Switzerland after the G7 meeting for the summit held at the luxury Burgenstock resort overlooking Lake Lucerne.

According to Nicolas Bideau, spokesperson for the Swiss Department of Foreign Affairs, the aim is to launch a future peace process and to develop practical elements, as well as steps in the direction of such a process.

“All states present at the summit must contribute with their ideas and vision to a just and lasting peace in Ukraine,” says Bideau.

Pres. Viola Amherd from Switzerland describes the meeting as the first step towards a sustainable peace.

Switzerland invited more than 160 delegations to the summit. This includes various heads of state and international organizations. More than 80 delegates, most of them from Europe, have already indicated that they will attend the summit.

Switzerland organized the summit at Ukraine’s request, but any outcomes are unclear.

Meanwhile, the German government emphasized that there should be no exaggerated expectations of the summit and described it as a building block for a peaceful settlement.

Russia has already stated that if Kiev does not agree to Moscow’s annexation of the roughly 20% of Ukrainian territory it already controls, it will not engage in any further negotiations.

Moscow no longer considers Switzerland a neutral country and has declared that it is not interested in attending the summit.

However, Bideau believes that the end of the summit can finally open a door to peace for Russia.

India, one of Russia’s main Brics partners, has declared that it will participate, while China, Brazil and South Africa have not yet indicated their position.