Vasseur believes Ferrari is on the right track


Despite the fact that Charles Leclerc started at the very front of the Mexican Grand Prix, he could not finish it with a victory and he had to be satisfied with an eventual third place.

His Ferrari teammate, Carlos Sainz, finished the race in fourth place.

However, the team is still struggling to hold a candle to Max Verstappen and the world champion racer won another Grand Prix – his 16th of the season.

Still, Fred Vasseur believes that Ferrari is on the right track.

“So together with the first starting place, a third and fourth place is not a bad result at all. We did very well this weekend,” said the Ferrari team boss.

It was the fourth time in six races that a Ferrari got a front position on the starting grid.

The 55-year-old Frenchman believes that this achievement should be celebrated, while the team initially also delivered a competitive performance in Mexico.

However, Ferrari’s starting point fireworks were quickly extinguished this past weekend when Leclerc was involved in a collision around the very first corner.

Three racing cars – Verstappen, Leclerc and Sergio Perez – crossed swords around the first corner and Perez made contact with Leclerc.

“What can you do when three racing cars side by side fight for a place? I don’t think it was anyone’s fault. Let’s continue to compile the fastest qualifying times; hopefully everything will fall into place soon.”

Vasseur was appointed as Ferrari team principal in Mattia Binotto’s place at the end of 2022 and he then said that he was ready for any challenge.

“It is a great honor for me to take the leadership reins as team principal at Ferrari. As someone who has always had a great passion for motorsport, for me Ferrari is the top of the F1 mountain. I look forward to working with the talented team and to respecting Ferrari’s remarkable history and heritage,” said Vasseur.

Results of Mexican Grand Prix:

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  5. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  6. George Russell (Mercedes)
  7. Daniel Ricciardo (Alpha Tauri)
  8. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
  9. Alex Albon (Williams)
  10. Esteban Ocon (Alpine).