Willemse, Libbok and Zas in the Stormers back line


On Saturday night, the evergreen Deon Fourie leads a Stormers team that has an exciting backline.

Damian Willemse will be the no. Wearing 15 jersey, with Courtnall Skosan and Leolin Zas the two wings. Then Suleiman Hartzenberg and Dan du Plessis will serve in midfield, while Manie Libbok pulls the strings at flyhalf.

Up front, Fourie together with Hacjivah Dayimani and Ben-Jason Dixon form the loose trio and the Stormers scrum will be anchored by Sti Sithole, André-Hugo Venter and Neethling Fouché.

Joseph Dweba, Ali Vermaak and Brok Harris will later provide more scrum power from the substitutes’ bench.

This is the Cape Town’s last home game at the DHL Stadium for a while and by Friday morning 20,000 tickets had already been snapped up for the duel.

“We would love to deliver another good performance. However, it will not be easy, because I expect Sale will also throw everything into the battle to win,” said the coach, John Dobson.

Du Plessis agreed with his coach in the run-up to the showdown.

“If you don’t keep Sale’s big forwards in check, they can enjoy front-foot momentum in no time. Yet it is precisely them you want to play against – you want to compare yourself to the best,” said the centre.

In addition, there are also a number of South Africans (including Robert du Preez and Ernst van Rhyn) in the Sale group.

“It will be interesting to compete with guys who previously played their rugby in Cape Town. They are aware of the Stormers’ rugby DNA, but we are excited about the showdown.”

The match starts at 19:30 on Saturday and the action will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Stormers: Damian Willemse (full back), Courtnall Skosan (right winger), Suleiman Hartzenberg (outside centre), Dan du Plessis (inside centre), Leolin Zas (left winger), Manie Libbok (fly-half), Herschel Jantjies (scrum-half), Hacjivah Dayimani (eighth man), Ben -Jason Dixon (flank), Deon Fourie (captain and flanker), Ruben Fourie (lock), Adre Smith (lock), Neethling Fouché (prop), André-Hugo Venter (hooker) and Sti Sithole (prop). Substitutes: Joseph Dweba, Ali Vermaak, Brok Harris, Connor Evans, Marcel Theunissen, Nama Xaba, Paul de Wet and Warrick Gelant.