World Cup beckons for SA women at indoor hockey tournament


The South African women’s indoor hockey team is confident that they will qualify for the 2025 World Cup in Croatia. But first, the team has its sights set on the African Nations Cup, which serves as a qualifying tournament for this. The tournament will be decided at the end of May in Swakopmund in Namibia.

The top two teams after the tournament book their tickets for the World Cup.

Hockey South Africa (HSA) announced the team for the tournament in Swakopmund on Wednesday. Between them, the group of 12 players have a total of 518 indoor Test matches to their credit.

AJ Spieringshoek is at the helm of the national team’s coaching. Spieringshoek was named head coach in 2023 after having been involved with the national team as an assistant coach since 2019.

Jamie Southgate, one of the team’s most seasoned players, made her debut for South Africa in 2018. Her skills and leadership will be crucial for the team. Southgate is just eight games away from playing in her 100th game for the Green and Gold.

Tegan Fourie and Malikah Hamza are both recognized for their quality play. Fourie picked up the award as SA Hockey indoor player and emerging player of 2023. Daniella de Oliveira was named the interprovincial indoor hockey player of the tournament.

The formidable goalkeeper, Sarah Paget, has been in exceptional form over the past few years. Paget was named the top goalkeeper after last year’s interprovincial tournament. She represented South Gauteng.

South Africa finished fourth at last year’s World Cup in Pretoria after the team lost 3-1 to the Czech Republic.

Eight players were in action in this clash and gained invaluable experience on the world stage. The team is geared to use his expertise to qualify again for next year’s tournament in Croatia.

As excitement builds for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations, the South African women’s team is ready to showcase their mettle and determination, aiming to regain their status as champions of the continent and their passage to the prestigious World Cup to ensure.

This is what the team looks like (matches in brackets):

Caylin den Bakker (11), Cheree Greyvenstein (70), Daniella Mendes de Oliveira (37), Edith Molikoe (69), Jamie Southgate (92), Jessica Lardant (63), Kayla de Waal (50), Laikén Brisset (23 ), Laylaa Davids (5), Malikah Hamza (17), Sarah Paget (12) and Tegan Fourie (68).