Yellow, yellow and again yellow cellar Blitzbokke


The Blitzboks can no longer qualify for the silverware in Madrid after losing 33-24 against New Zealand.

It was the South Africans’ second defeat in a row after they got stuck in the finals against Ireland yesterday.

A multitude of yellow cards – three to be exact – robbed the Blitzboks of momentum and they had to make do with just four players on the field at one stage.

Tiaan Pretorius, Impi Visser and Tristan Leyds were all sent off with yellow cards early in the game, but the South Africans still tried their best to disrupt the Kiwis.

Christie Grobbelaar scored his try with sheer force, Quewin Nortjé was twice too good for the New Zealand defense and Selvyn Davids also contributed to his team’s three-scoring performance.

But New Zealand dominated possession and a penalty try – after Leyds’ yellow card – rubbed further salt into the Blitzbok wounds.

In addition, South Africa also defended poorly, while the players urgently need to pay attention to their set-piece work.

South Africa will face Fiji in its final group match at 15:49.

  • Scorers:

New Zealand: Leroy Carter (2), penalty try, Dylan Collier and Moses Leo. Goals: Andrew Knewstubb (2) and Akuila Rokolisoa.

South Africa: Quewin Nortjé (2), Christie Grobbelaar and Selvyn Davids. Goal kicks: Justin Patience and Tristan Leyds.