Young Swede in Luke Donald’s Ryder Cup squad


First, there is no rush – and now a member of Europe’s Ryder Cup team, who will soon face off against the mighty USA on the biggest golf stage.

This is the fairytale story of the Swede Ludvig Aberg’s short professional career of three months, which on Sunday produced a first European title and about 24 hours later also a place in Luke Donald’s select twelve for the prestigious biennial Ryder Cup tournament.

The Europeans and Zack Johnson’s American team face off from September 29 to October 1 at the Marco Simone Club in Rome, Italy.

The Yanks are the defending champions after their record 19-9 win in 2021 at Whistling Straits in Wisconsin.

However, the visiting Americans last won away from home in 30 years when they prevailed 15-13 at The Belfry Club in Warwickshire, England in 1993.

Europe won eight of the ten Ryder Cups from 1995 to 2014, with the Americans walking away victorious in two of the last three spectacles.

On Monday, Aberg was included by Donald as one of his six captain’s choices in Europe’s team for the end of this month’s international team battle.

The 23-year-old Swede is one of three Ryder Cup newcomers and only has six professional tournaments to his name.

Although his victory on Sunday in Crans-sur-Sierre in the European Masters tournament was decisive for Donald’s yes to inclusion in the European team, the former world no. 1 amateur player already in Donald’s sights since last year.

“He has unprecedented talent and falls into the category of a Jon Rahm, a Scottie Scheffler.

“I played with him recently and his abilities blew me away. He is going to become one of the game’s greats,” Donald said of Aberg.

Aberg was the top amateur in the American university competition in 2022 and this year – before he joined the professional ranks.

“I never dreamed that I would get a chance to play in the Ryder Cup so quickly. I can’t wait,” Aberg said of his surprising choice.

Donald’s five other captain choices are the seasoned Tommy Fleetwood, the major champions Justin Rose and Shane Lowry, as well as the two newcomers Sepp Straka and Nicolai Hojgaard.

Straka is Austria’s first Ryder Cup player, while the Dane Hojgaard is following in Thomas Bjorn’s footsteps.

Straka achieved his breakthrough victory in the American PGA Series this year and finished second in the British Open at Royal Liverpool.

Hojgaard triumphed in the European series last year and has seven top tens to his name this season.

The choices of Fleetwood, Rose and Lowry were obvious and the trio are all players for the big moments.

The six Europeans who qualified directly for the team are Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Viktor Hovland, Tyrrell Hatton, Matt Fitzpatrick and Robert Macintyre.

The American team is Scottie Scheffler, Wyndham Clark, Patrick Cantlay, Max Homa, Brian Harman, Xander Schauffele, Jordan Spieth, Collin Morikawa, Sam Burns, Ricky Fowler, Justin Thomas and LIV player Brooks Koepka.

Europe did not consider any LIV player.

  • Additional source: Sky Sports