Bokke, Neuschäfer and Steyn can unleash prices


Rugby players such as Eben Etzebeth and Siya Kolisi, soccer star Percy Tau, long-distance athlete Gerda Steyn and sailor Kirsten Neuschäfer are among the favorites to win prizes at the SA Sports Awards event.

The winners will be announced during the awards ceremony at the Sun City Superbowl on Sunday, May 5.

Sportswoman and sports star of 2023

Tatjana Smith can swim away with the big prize in two categories. The Olympic gold medalist could be the sportswoman as well as the sports star of the year.

Neuschäfer and the cricketer Laura Wolvaardt’s names were also thrown into the latter hat.

Wolvaardt’s 184 runs in the women’s cricket team against Sri Lanka in Potchefstroom is the highest one-day cricket score yet by a South African female player.

Neuschäfer won the Golden Globe yacht race around the world and she immediately became the first woman to sail away with the laurels.

Sports star of the year

Goats captain Kolisi has made the TIME100 list of the most influential people in 2024. This double World Cup champion’s name is on the list as sports star of the year, together with Smith and paraplegic athlete Simoné Kruger.

As a discus and weight thrower, Kruger has represented her country several times with great success.

Sportsman of the year

Canoe marathon athlete Andrew Birkett, Etzebeth and boxing champion Sivenathi Nontshinga were named sportsman of the year.

Birkett qualified for this year’s Olympic Games in Paris. Nontshinga is a two-time IBF light flyweight world champion, having held the belt from 2022 to November 2023 and he successfully defended his title again this year.

Coach of the year

Rocco Meiring (swimming), Jason Sewanyana (athletics) and Jacques Nienaber (rugby), who are currently in Ireland, are on the list for coach of the year.

Sports team of the year

The Springboks, the national women’s cricket team (T20) and the sheep shearing team are the three nominees in this category.

Paraplegic Athlete (Men)

Mpumelelo Mhlongo (athletics), Donald Tebogo Ramphadi (wheelchair tennis) and David Watts (golf) will compete for the prize.

Mhlongo won the men’s 100m in the T44 class at the 2023 World Para Athletics Championships – with South Africa’s first gold medal. He also walked away with the award as Athletics South Africa’s top athlete.

Ramphadi will also be in action at the Paralympic Games in Paris at the end of July.

During last year’s Paralympic World Swimming Championship, Swanepoel won the gold medal in the 150 m individual medley.

Paraplegic Athlete (Women)

Kruger, Kat Swanepoel (swimming) and Kgothatso Montjane (wheelchair tennis) are the three nominees.

South Africa’s wheelchair tennis star Montjane and her teammate Yui Kamiji of Japan defended their doubles title at the Japan Open. The dynamic duo defeated Saki Takamuro and Aniek van Koot 6-0 and 6-1 in the final.

Supporters’ favourite

Eben Etzebeth and Gerda Steyn are nominated along with Tau, Kolisi and Neuschäfer.