Nhleko satisfied with junior Bokke’s preparation


The o. 20-Rugby Championship in Australia is around the corner and coach Bafana Nhleko is satisfied with the team’s preparation.

A group of 31 players were announced today to serve in Queensland.

Nhleko can rely on the experience of Zachary Porthen, JF van Heerden, Asad Moos, Jurenzo Julius and Litelihle Bester to give his team a boost. These five stars were in action in last year’s World Championship.

The young Boks will play in their first match of the tournament against New Zealand, after which matches against Australia and Argentina are also on the menu.

“The matches will be a good test for our team’s character and skills and it will undoubtedly serve as preparation for World Rugby’s o. 20 championship serve,” said Nhleko.

He added that his players performed well in the previous alignment camps; however, the time is ripe to exhibit on the playing field the things they have become wise on the training field.

“The tour offers a golden opportunity for the players to gain experience and experience a different environment and culture. We are excited to see how we stack up against the other teams.”

According to Nhleko, the World Championship door is not necessarily closed for the players who do not pack their bags for Australia.

“We will join hands with the unions and monitor the other players’ progress before embarking on the final preparations for the World Rugby spectacle.”

  • 20-Springboks:

Forwards: Casper Badenhorst (Blue Bulls), Liyema Ntshanga (Cheetahs), Mbasa Maqubela (Blue Bulls), Reno Hirst (Lions), Ruan Swart (Blue Bulls), Zachary Porthen (Western Province), CJ Erasmus (Western Province), Ethan Bester ( Sharks), Juan Smal (Blue Bulls), Adam de Waal (Western Province), JF van Heerden (Blue Bulls), Thomas Dyer (Sharks), Bathobele Hlekani (Sharks), Divan Fuller (Western Province), Keanu Coetsee (Blue Bulls) ), Sibabalwe Mahashe (Lions), Thabang Mphafi (Lions) and Tiaan Jacobs (Biarritz in France).

Back players: Asad Moos (Western Province), Ezekiel Ngubane (Western Province), Hassiem Pead (Lions), Thurlon Williams (Lions), Tylor Sefoor (Cheetahs), Bruce Sherwood (Western Province), Joshua Boulle (Western Province), Jurenzo Julius (Sharks ), Litelihle Bester (Sharks), Phillip-Albert van Niekerk (Blue Bulls), JC Mars (Western Province), Joel Leotlela (Western Province) and Michail Damon (Blue Bulls).

  • 20-Rugby Championship Fixtures:

May 2:

09:00: Junior Springboks against New Zealand

11am: Australia v Argentina

May 7:

09:00: New Zealand v Argentina

11:00: Junior Springboks against Australia

May 12:

05:30: Junior Springboks against Argentina

07:30: Australia v New Zealand